My own, my precious, my. . . Dalek.

My dalek

Yes, I’ve waited decades for this moment, but I can now call myself the proud owner of a Dalek. What you see here is a Dalek shouting “Exterminate! Exterminate!” futilely at my Webcam. Yes, I’m safe because it feels more threatened by the Webcam than me.

Seriously, though, BBC America sells this sweet remote-controlled Dalek which has duly impressed the kids and wife. I only have a little time for these kid moments (that is, me being the kid) anymore, but this is surely one of them. Oh, and the new Dr. Who series. If any of you haven’t seen it, add the new series to your Netflix or Blockbuster.com queue. Chris Eccleston, the Ninth Doctor, and David Tennant, the Tenth, are both fantastic. Eccleston–well, he smiles a whole lot more than you’ve probably ever seem him do before (notably he’s been in Elizabeth as Norfolk, and in 28 Days Later). And, he’s very, very good. Tennant–in my view, it about sums his performance up when you consider that the Fourth (Tom Baker) has finally broken silence (after 20-30 years?) and said he’s actually enjoyed watching one of his successors. And that comment makes sense–there’s a good dose of the Fourth Doctor in Tennant. Notably, the wholesomely drawn-out “Welllllllll . . .” and the frequent flashing of toothy grins. The writing is just as good as ever, if not better, and the effects are finally as good as it gets. If you like sci-fi, this is as good as it gets.

Lime

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Culture, Dr. Who, Science Fiction

Leave a Reply

