Pardon me: are those Spartan abs under your jacket and tie?

As if we all haven’t heard enough about 300, there’s one thing haunting me that just won’t go away. No, it isn’t the horrible ginormous man-hands of Xerxes on Leonidas’ shoulders (That’s “Xerxes,” as in “Pat” and “Chris”). Rather, it’s the perfect condition of each and every one of those damn Spartans. Despite the fact that I did the Navy Seal workout for 7 months straight, and have been doing a close-to-full version of it for the last 1 1/2 years, I still don’t look like a Spartan.

Mark Twight (who is not a certified trainer) has now released the exercise regimen he subjected the movie’s stars to over a period of approximately 8 -12 weeks in order to achieve that perfect physique. A note of caution (obviously): if you’re not in great shape already, don’t try this at risk of serious injury or death. And another note: even if you are in great shape, you might want to check with a doctor before attempting. Now that I’ve cleared the potential liability caveats, here it is:

The 300 WorkoutThe workout gets its name from the total number of repetitions. But those 300 reps weren’t done daily, as some media accounts report, Twight says. Rather, the 300 workout was the finale of months of training, a kind of graduation test, after actors had weight lifted and trained with tools such as medicine balls and Kettlebells (cast iron weights with handles).

  • 25 pull-ups
  • 50 deadlifts at 135 pounds
  • 50 push-ups
  • 50 box jumps with a 24-inch box
  • 50 “floor wipers” (a core and shoulders exercise at 135 pounds)
  • 50 “clean and press” at 36 pounds (a weight-lifting exercise)
  • 25 more pull-ups — for a total of 300 reps

Note: no rest is taken between movements, and the “score” is based on total time.

I plan to try this, after I file a few pleadings, chop on students’ seminar papers, and generally find time to do all the other important things in life.

Lime

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise, Health

One response to “Pardon me: are those Spartan abs under your jacket and tie?

  1. Update on this: I get around to this about once a month. It’s a killer, but it is faster than the other workouts.

    One hiccup: I had absolutely no idea what the “floor wipers” were. After a bit of digging, I found out, and here it is:

    Lie on the floor and on your back with a 45-lb bar held straight over your body, a 45-lb weight on each side (so, 135 lb total). Your arms should be straight, perpendicular to the floor.

    Now–without passing out–holding your legs straight as possible and your feet together, bring both feet towards your head and touch the right weight, then back to the floor, and then bring your feet to touch the left weight, and return your legs straight to the floor. That’s one rep. Do this 50 times.

    I say “without passing out,” because I incurred an extreme case of tinnitus after completing the 50 reps. I asked one of our judges to spot me just in case I passed out… which I haven’t, and the tinnitus has decreased, but I still get it. I can’t imagine the spike in blood pressure is good for the body, but the abs get a good burn from this workout.

    Otherwise, it’s straightforward. I’d have to say the box jumps are particularly rewarding/killer.

    Lime out

Leave a Reply

